Creating and Modifying Print Presets

After examining a selected preset’s print settings, you may want to change certain settings. You can do this by modifying an existing print preset and then saving it, or by duplicating an existing print preset and making changes to it. You use the presets stored in the Custom Presets area of the Print dialog to create and save your customized print presets.

Note: The settings modified in the Standard and Contact Sheets presets are reset to their default values each time the Print dialog is closed.

Modifying an Existing Print Preset

Any existing print preset under Custom Presets can be changed, either temporarily or permanently. If you change a preset’s settings without saving it, the preset will revert to its original settings after the print job is processed. If you save the modified settings, the preset will retain the setting changes.

To modify an existing print preset
  1. Choose File > Print (or press Command-P).

    The Print dialog appears.

  2. In the Print dialog, select a print preset under Custom Presets, then click the More Options button.

  3. Modify the settings as appropriate.

  4. When you’re ready to save the preset, choose Save Preset from the Print Action pop-up menu (with a gear icon).

The print preset is saved with its new settings.

If you want to preserve the settings in an existing print preset, you can duplicate it and then modify the new print preset as described in Creating a New Print Preset.

Creating a New Print Preset

In Aperture, you create new print presets by duplicating existing print presets and then making modifications to them.

To create a new print preset using the Duplicate Preset command
  1. Choose File > Print Images (or press Command-P).

    The Print dialog appears.

  2. In the Print dialog, select a print preset under Custom Presets that you want to duplicate, then choose Duplicate Preset from the Print Action pop-up menu (with a gear icon).

  3. Enter a new name for the preset.

  4. Modify the settings as appropriate, then choose Save Preset from the Print Action pop-up menu.

You can now select this preset whenever you need to use these print settings.

Deleting a Print Preset

You can delete a print preset that you no longer use.

To delete a print preset
  1. In the Custom Presets section of the Print dialog, select the preset you want to delete.

  2. Choose Delete Preset from the Print Action pop-up menu (with a gear icon).

  3. Confirm the deletion in the dialog that appears.

The preset is deleted from the Custom Presets list.