Exporting Image Versions

You can export image versions that you’ve created in Aperture. For example, you might make adjustments to images for a specific purpose and then export them for use in another application. You can also rename images when exporting them, make minor adjustments on export, add watermarks, and export images with metadata. You can also quickly export images to your email application to send them to others.

When you export image versions, you can specify settings for the exported files, such as format, size, and filename.

Note: You can set Aperture to always include location information and names assigned to faces when exporting your photos. For more information about including Places and Faces information with your photos, see Export Preferences.

To export versions of images
  1. Select an image or images in the Browser.

  2. Choose File > Export > Versions (or press Command-Shift-E).

  3. In the dialog that appears, navigate to the location where you want the exported images placed.

    Figure. Controls in the Export dialog.
  4. Choose an export preset from the Export Preset pop-up menu.

    For more information on export presets, see Working with Export Presets.

  5. Do one of the following:

    • Choose None from the Subfolder Format pop-up menu to specify that the versions be stored as separate files in the selected folder.

    • Choose a folder name preset from the Subfolder Format pop-up menu to specify that Aperture create a hierarchy of subfolders with specific folder names to hold your files. For more information about creating folders to hold your exported images, see Exporting Images into Folders in the Finder.

    • Choose Custom Name or Custom Name with Counter from the Subfolder Format pop-up menu, then enter a custom folder name in the Custom Subfolder Name field.

  6. Choose a name format for your files from the Name Format pop-up menu.

    If you choose a Custom Name format, enter a name in the Custom Name field. For more information on renaming images at export, see Renaming Images at Export.

  7. If you want to be notified when the export process is complete, select the “Show alert when finished” checkbox.

  8. When you’re ready to export files, click Export Versions.

The images you selected are exported to the location you specified. If you selected the “Show alert when finished” checkbox, a dialog appears displaying the number of versions exported and the file path. If you want Aperture to open the Finder to the location where you exported your versions, click the Reveal in Finder button. Otherwise, click OK to close the dialog.

Note: If you want to check on the progress of an export operation, choose Window > Show Activity. The Activity window displays the progress of each export operation. You can also use this window to pause and cancel an export operation.