Disabling and Enabling MobileMe, Flickr, and Facebook Accounts

You can disable access to your MobileMe, Flickr, or Facebook accounts and then enable access to them again from within Aperture at any time.

Important: All albums associated with a disabled MobileMe, Flickr, or Facebook account are removed from Aperture. However, the albums and their images are retained and still appear in the MobileMe, Flickr, or Facebook account. You will no longer have access to your MobileMe Gallery after June 30, 2012.

To disable all of your online accounts in Aperture
  • Choose File > Web Accounts > Disable All Accounts.

All of your online MobileMe, Flickr, and Facebook accounts and their associated albums are disabled and removed from Aperture. However, the album configurations are saved in case you want to reenable the accounts later. The albums, sets, and their contents still appear in the MobileMe, Flickr, or Facebook accounts online.

To disable a single MobileMe, Flickr, or Facebook account in Aperture
  • Choose File > Web Accounts > Disable [account].

The selected MobileMe, Flickr, or Facebook account and all its albums are disabled and removed from Aperture. However, the album configurations are saved in case you want to reenable the account later. The albums, sets, and their contents still appear in the disabled MobileMe, Flickr, or Facebook account online.

After disabling your MobileMe, Flickr, or Facebook accounts in Aperture, you can always reenable them.

To enable all of your MobileMe, Flickr, and Facebook accounts in Aperture
  • Choose File > Web Accounts > Enable All Accounts.

The published albums for the web accounts appear in the Library inspector.

To enable a single MobileMe, Flickr, or Facebook account in Aperture
  • Choose File > Web Accounts > Enable [account].

The published albums for the selected web account appear in the Library inspector.

What Happens When an Account Is Disabled in Aperture?

When a MobileMe, Flickr, or Facebook account is disabled in Aperture, all of the disabled account’s albums are removed from Aperture. When you choose to disable an account in Aperture, a dialog appears asking if you want to import the photos in the albums into your Aperture library. If you choose to import the photos, Aperture places the photos in a new project in the Library inspector. If you choose not to import the photos in the albums of the account you are about to disable, Aperture places the contents of the albums in the Aperture Trash. Any sharing history that appears in the Metadata inspector for the disabled account is deleted.

If you regularly enable and disable your MobileMe, Flickr, and Facebook accounts in Aperture, and you want to permanently import content posted to these accounts outside of Aperture, drag the content you want to import from the MobileMe, Flickr, or Facebook album to a new or existing project in the Library inspector. Aperture generates new copies of the media and places them in the selected project.