Disconnecting a Vault’s Hard Disk Drive from Your System Temporarily

You may routinely disconnect a backup hard disk drive from your Aperture system and take it to a safe offsite location. When you disconnect a backup hard disk from your computer, Aperture takes the associated vault offline. When you reconnect the hard disk, Aperture automatically detects the hard disk and connects it to the corresponding vault.

To disconnect a vault’s hard disk drive from your Aperture system
  1. In the Finder, drag the icon for the hard disk drive to the Trash, or select the disk in the sidebar of a Finder window and click the Eject button.

  2. Disconnect the hard disk drive from your computer.