Deleting a Vault Permanently

You can delete an entire vault and all the images on it when you need to reconfigure your backup system. This is useful when you have moved your backup vault to a larger-capacity hard disk and you want to delete the vault information from the current hard disk drive to use it for other purposes.

To permanently remove a vault and delete its information
  1. Do one of the following:

    • Choose Window > Show Vaults (or press Shift-R).

    • Click the Vault Pane button.

  2. In the Vault pane, select the vault you want to remove.

  3. Do one of the following:

    • Choose File > Vault > Remove Vault.

    • Choose Remove Vault from the Vault Action pop-up menu (with a gear icon).

    A dialog appears, asking if you want to remove the vault.

  4. Click one of the following buttons:

    • Remove and Delete: When you click this button, Aperture no longer tracks the vault, and the vault’s files are deleted from your hard disk.
    • Remove: When you click this button, Aperture no longer tracks the vault, but the vault’s files remain on the hard disk.

Tip: If you accidentally removed the wrong vault and did not delete it, you can add it back to the library by locating the vault on your file system, and then dragging the vault from the Finder to the Vaults pane. However, only vaults that were created by the current library can be added back to the Vaults pane.