An Overview of the Browser

When you select a project, folder, or album in the Library inspector, thumbnails of its images appear in the Browser. You select images in the Browser to work with them. You can move and rearrange images, rotate images, make new versions, and delete images from a project.

Figure. Controls in the Browser in grid view.

Aperture provides fast and efficient ways of selecting images. You can use the arrow keys to quickly select an image or multiple images to work on. You can also select images by clicking, dragging a selection rectangle, and using keyboard shortcuts. If using Aperture on a MacBook or MacBook Pro, you can use the swipe gesture to select images. For more information about using gestures with Aperture, see Using Multi-Touch Trackpad Gestures with Aperture.

You can display images in the Browser in filmstrip view, grid view, and list view.

When you select filmstrip view, the Browser changes to a single row of images that you can select and navigate through, and selected images appear in the Viewer.

Figure. Thumbnail image selected in the Browser in filmstrip view and the Viewer displaying the selected image.

Grid view organizes thumbnails of your images in a grid pattern. Use grid view when it’s easiest to identify your images by sight and work with thumbnails as you organize, stack, or assign keywords to images.

List view displays a list of your images with associated file information. Use list view when you need to see or sort your images by corresponding file data such as image date, file size, or rating.

Figure. Browser in list view.

List view is a great way to quickly see information about your files. You can also use list view to sort your images by any of the column categories. Click a column heading to sort your images by that category.

You can also customize the information that appears with your images. For example, you can set your images to appear with the filename as well as the IPTC data and EXIF data. You can change what information appears in the Browser in grid view, list view, and filmstrip view by customizing the Metadata options in the Preferences window. For more information, see Displaying Specific Metadata with Your Images.

If you make a mistake while editing, in most cases you can choose the Undo command to immediately cancel your last action. In fact, you can choose the Undo command multiple times to undo your last series of actions. Aperture places deleted masters in the Aperture Trash. If you discover a deletion you did not intend to make, and the Undo command cannot recover the deletion, you can still recover the master from the Aperture Trash until the Trash is emptied.