Deleting Images from the Browser

When necessary, you can delete versions and even masters.

When deleting images, you can:

To remove a version from an album
  • Select the version and choose Photos > Remove From Album (or press Delete).

You can also delete a version from a stack.

To delete a version from a version stack (a stack of versions from the same master)
  1. Open the stack and select the version you want to delete.

  2. Choose File > Delete Version (or press Command-Delete).

The deleted version is moved to the Aperture Trash. For more information about the Aperture Trash, see Working with the Aperture Trash.

If you delete the last version in a version stack, Aperture asks whether you want to delete the master. If you confirm that you want to delete the master, the master is moved to the Aperture Trash.

When an image is represented in the Browser by a single version, you can select the version and delete it, and the corresponding master is deleted as well.

To delete a master
  1. Select a version.

  2. Choose File > Delete Version (or press Command-Delete).

  3. When a dialog appears, asking you to confirm that you want to delete the master and versions, click Delete.

The master and all its versions are moved to the Aperture Trash. For more information about the Aperture Trash, see Working with the Aperture Trash.

You can select a stack containing versions of the same image and delete all the image versions in the stack as well as the master.

To delete a version stack and its master
  1. Select the stack you want to delete.

  2. Choose File > Delete Master Image and All Versions.

  3. When a dialog appears, asking you to confirm that you want to delete the master and versions, click Delete.

The master and all its versions are moved to the Aperture Trash. For more information about the Aperture Trash, see Working with the Aperture Trash.

Recovering Deleted Files

If you accidentally delete an image you meant to keep, and you can’t recover it by choosing Undo, you may be able to recover it from the Aperture Trash. In the Library inspector, select Trash. All images currently in the Aperture Trash are displayed in the Browser. When you empty the Aperture Trash, the masters are moved to the Finder Trash. You can import the deleted masters by dragging them back into Aperture. If you’ve already emptied the Aperture Trash and Finder Trash, and you originally backed up your deleted masters, the vault may still hold them. If necessary, you can restore the project containing the deleted master image file from the vault. If you updated your vault after emptying the Aperture Trash, the vault won’t contain the image.