Saving and Using Corrections and Grades

You can save any correction and grade, in order to apply one shot's settings to others at a later time. Examples of the use of saved corrections and grades include:

For more information, see:

Saving Corrections into Corrections Bins

The Primary In, Secondaries, Color FX, and Primary Out rooms all have corrections bins where you can save corrections that are specific to those rooms for future use. When you save corrections in any room, they're available to every project you open in Color.

To save a correction from the current shot into the current room’s bin
  1. Move the playhead to the shot with a correction you want to save.

  2. Click in the File field underneath the corrections bin, enter a name for the saved correction, and press Return. (This step is optional.)

    Figure. File field for saving corrections.
  3. Click Save.

    Figure. Save button.

    The correction is saved into the current room's bin with a thumbnail of the shot it was saved from.

    Figure. Thumbnail for saved correction in the current room's bin.
To save any shot’s correction into the current room’s bin
  1. Click in the File field underneath the corrections bin, enter a name for the saved correction, and press Return. (This step is optional.)

    Figure. Entering a name for a saved correction.
  2. Drag the correction bar (in the grades track of the Timeline) of the shot you want to save to the corrections bin.

    Figure. Dragging a correction into a bin.

Tip: To overwrite a previously saved correction with a new one using the same name, select the correction you want to overwrite before saving the new grade, then click Replace when a warning appears. This is useful when you’ve updated a grade that you previously saved.

Entering a custom name for your saved correction is optional, but recommended, to help you keep track of all your corrections during extensive grading sessions. If you don't enter a name, saved corrections (and grades) are automatically named using the following method:

CorrectionType.Day Month Year Hour.Minute.Second TimeZone.extension

The date and time used correspond to the exact second the correction is saved. For example, a saved secondary correction might have the following automatic name:

Secondary.01 May 2007 10.31.47EST.scc

Corrections from each room are saved into corresponding directories in the /Users/username/Library/Application Support/Color directory. For more information, see How Are Grades and Corrections Saved and Organized?.

Saving Grades into the Grades Bin

Saved grades store the corrections that are applied in the Primary In, Secondaries, Color FX, and Primary Out rooms all at once, so there's one more step.

To save a grade from the current shot
  1. Click the Grades tab in the Setup room.

  2. Move the playhead to the shot with a grade you want to save.

  3. Select the grade that you want to save by clicking it in the Timeline.

    Figure. Selecting a grade to save in the Timeline.
  4. Click in the File field underneath the corrections bin, enter a name for the saved correction, and press Return. (This step is optional.)

  5. Click the Save button (in the bottom-right corner of the Grades bin).

    Figure. Save button.

    The grade is saved to the Grades bin.

    Figure. Thumbnail of a saved grade in the Grades bin.

    The grade is saved with a thumbnail from the shot it was saved from. Once you've saved a grade, deleting, organizing, and applying grades is identical to deleting, organizing, and applying saved corrections.

    Grades are saved to the /Users/username/Library/Application Support/Color/Grades directory.

To save any shot’s grade
  1. Click in the File field underneath the corrections bin, enter a name for the saved correction, and press Return. (This step is optional.)

    Figure. Entering a name for a saved grade.
  2. Drag the grade bar of any shot you want to save into the Grades bin.

    Figure. Dragging a grade into a bin.

Tip: To overwrite a previously saved grade with a new one using the same name, select the grade you want to overwrite before saving the new grade, then click Replace when a warning appears. This is useful when you’ve updated a grade that you previously saved.

Deleting Saved Corrections and Grades

You can delete saved corrections and grades you no longer need.

To delete a saved correction or grade
  1. Select a correction or grade in any bin.

  2. Press Delete or Forward Delete.

  3. When a warning appears, click Yes.

    The selected correction or grade is deleted, both from Color and from disk. This operation cannot be undone.

Organizing Saved Corrections and Grades with Folders

Saved corrections and grades are available to every project you open. For this reason, you may find it useful to save your corrections and grades into folders within each room's bin. There are a number of different ways you can use folders to organize your saved corrections and grades:

  • You can create a folder for each new project you work on, saving all the corrections that are specific to a particular project within the corresponding folder.

  • You can also create folders for grades that you have saved for use with any project. For example, you may create a library of your own stylistic "looks" that you can apply to instantly present your clients with different options.

Note: You can only save corrections and grades in a folder after that folder has been created.

To create a new folder inside a bin
  1. Click New Folder.

    Figure. New Folder button.
  2. Enter a name for the new folder in the New Folder dialog, then click Create.

    Figure. Typing a name for a new folder in the New Folder dialog.

    A new folder with the name you entered is created inside the corrections bin of that room.

    Figure. Folder icon in the corrections bin of the current room.

    Every time you create a folder in a bin, you also create a subdirectory within the saved correction directory for that room within the /Users/username/Library/Application Support/Color directory.

To save a correction or grade into a folder
  1. Move the playhead to the shot with a correction or grade you want to save.

  2. Double-click a folder in the corrections or Grades bin to open it.

    The Directory pop-up menu updates to display the directory path in the Finder of the currently open folder.

  3. Enter a name for the saved correction or grade in the File field underneath the corrections or Grades bin. (This step is optional.)

  4. Click Save.

    The correction or grade is saved within that folder.

    Important: There is no way of moving a saved correction into a folder after it's been saved using the Color interface.

Reorganizing Saved Corrections and Grades in the Finder

Since each corrections bin simply mirrors the contents of the corresponding subdirectories in the /Users/username/Library/Application Support/Color directory, you can also use the Finder to reorganize your saved corrections and grades. For more information, see Reorganizing Saved Corrections and Grades in the Finder.

Applying Saved Corrections and Grades to Shots

Once you've saved a correction or grade, applying it to one or more shots in your project is easy.

To apply a saved correction or grade from a bin to a single shot
  1. Move the playhead to the shot you want to apply the correction or grade to.

  2. Do one of the following:

    • Double-click the correction or grade you want to apply.

    • Select a correction or grade to apply, then click the Load button underneath the bin.

    • Drag the correction or grade onto the shot you want to apply it to.

      The selected grade is applied to the shot at the position of the playhead.

To apply a saved correction or grade from a bin to multiple shots
  1. In the Timeline, select all of the shots you want to apply the correction to.

    Important: If the current shot at the position of the playhead is not selected, it will not be included in the selection when you apply a saved correction from a bin.

  2. Do one of the following:

    • In the Grades or corrections bin, double-click the correction or grade you want to apply.

    • Select a saved correction or grade in the Grades or corrections bin, then click the Load button underneath the bin.

    • Drag the saved correction or grade from the Grades or corrections bin, then drop it onto the selected shots in the Timeline.

      The correction or grade is then applied to all selected shots in the Timeline.