The Render Queue Interface

You specify which shots in the program you want to render using the Render Queue list. Whenever you add shots to this list, they’re organized by shot number. The order in which shots appear in this column dictates the order in which they’re rendered—the topmost unrendered shot in the list is rendered first, and then rendering continues for the next unrendered shot on the list, and so on until the end of the list is reached.

  • Render Queue list: Six columns of information appear in the Render Queue:
    • Number column: Identifies that shot’s numeric position in the Timeline. All shots in the Render Queue are listed in descending order based on their ID number.
    • Shot Name column: Shows a thumbnail and the name of the shot.
    • In column: The first frame of media that will be rendered for that shot. This timecode is equal to the Project In point plus the current Handles value specified in the Project Settings tab of the Setup room.
    • Out column: The last frame of media that will be rendered for that shot. This timecode is equal to the Project Out point plus the current Handles value specified in the Project Settings tab of the Setup room. If there is no extra media available on disk for handles at the beginning or end of shots, then handles will not be added.
    • Grade ID column: Shows the currently selected grade for that shot. You can queue up the same shot up to four times with different grades enabled, in order to render media for each grade associated with that shot.
    • Progress column: This is the column where a render bar appears to let you know how long that shot is taking to render. If the shot is not currently rendering, this column shows the render status of that shot (queued, rendering, or rendered).

Render Queue Controls

The following buttons beneath the Render Queue list let you add shots to the queue, remove them, and initiate rendering.

Figure. Render Queue controls.
  • Add Unrendered: Adds all currently unrendered shots to the Render Queue.
  • Add Selected: Adds all currently selected shots to the Render Queue.
  • Add All: Adds every shot in the Timeline to the Render Queue. Shots that have already been rendered are also placed in the queue and will be rerendered unless they’re first removed. Shots that are rerendered overwrite the previously rendered media.
  • Remove Selected: Removes only shots that you’ve selected from the Render Queue.
  • Clear Queue: Removes all shots from the Render Queue.
  • Start Render: Initiates rendering for all the shots that have been placed into the Render Queue. This button has the same function as the Render > Start Render menu command.

    Important: Once you’ve initiated rendering, you can stop it by pressing either Escape or Control-Period. When you’ve stopped rendering, whichever shot was interrupted will need to be rerendered from its In point.