Managing Rendered Shots in the Timeline

Once you’ve rendered shots in the Timeline, they stay rendered unless you make a change to the grade. When you change the grade of a shot that’s already been rendered, its render bar will once again turn red, showing that its current state is unrendered. Rendering the new state of the grade for that shot overwrites the previous render file.

If you try to add a shot that’s currently shown as having been rendered to the Render Queue (for example, you’ve inadvertently included one or more shots that have already been rendered in a selection of shots you want to render), a dialog warns you which shots will be rerendered, with the option to leave them out of the queue.

Figure. Warning about adding a shot to the Render Queue a second time.

Clicking Yes forces Color to add them to the Render Queue, where they will be rendered a second time.