Working with Tracks

This section describes different ways you can change the state of tracks in the Timeline as you work.

Note: The tracks of imported XML projects are automatically locked. For the best roundtrip results, these tracks should not be unlocked.

To lock or unlock a track
  • Control-click or right-click anywhere within a track, then choose one of the following from the shortcut menu:

    • Lock Track: Locks all the shots so that they can’t be moved or edited.
    • Unlock Track: Allows shots to be moved and edited.

      Note: You can also lock the grades track in the Timeline using the same methods.

To hide or show a track
  • Control-click or right-click anywhere within a track, then choose one of the following:

    • Hide Track: Disables a track such that superimposed shots are neither visible nor selectable when the playhead passes over them.
    • Show Track: Makes a track visible again. Superimposed shots take precedence over shots on lower tracks and are selected by default whenever that track is visible.

Tip: Prior to exporting a project from Final Cut Pro, you can export a self-contained QuickTime movie of the entire program and superimpose it over the other clips in your edited sequence. Then, when you export the project to Color, you can turn this “reference” version of the program on and off using track visibility whenever you want to have a look at effects or color corrections that were created during the offline edit.

To add a track
  • Control-click or right-click anywhere within a track, then choose New Track from the shortcut menu.

To remove a track
  • Control-click or right-click anywhere within a track, then choose Remove Track from the shortcut menu.

    Note: You cannot remove the bottom track.