Working with Grades in the Timeline

Each shot in the Timeline can be switched among up to four different grades, shown in the grades track.

Figure. Switching grades in the Timeline.

These four grades let you store different looks for the same shot. For example, if you’ve created a satisfactory grade, but you or your client would like to try “one other thing,” you can experiment with up to three different looks, knowing that you can instantly recall the original, if that’s what’s ultimately preferred.

Only one grade actually affects a shot at a time—whichever grade is selected in the Timeline is the grade you will see on your preview and broadcast displays. All unselected grades are disabled. For more information on creating and managing grades, see Managing Corrections and Grades.

By default, each shot in a new project starts off with a single empty grade, but you can add another one at any time.

To add a new grade to a shot
Do one of the following:
  • Move the playhead to the shot you want to add a new grade to, then press Control-1 through Control-4.

  • Control-click or right-click the grade you want to switch to, then choose Add New Grade from the shortcut menu.

    If there wasn’t already a grade corresponding to the number of the grade you entered, one will be created. Whenever a new grade is added, the grades track expands, and the new grade becomes the selected grade. New grades are clean slates, letting you begin working from the original state of the uncorrected shot.

To select the current grade
  1. Move the playhead to the shot you want to switch the grade of.

  2. Do one of the following:

    • Click the grade you want to switch to.

    • Press Control-1 through Control-4.

    • Control-click or right-click the grade you want to switch to, then choose Select Grade [x] from the shortcut menu, where x is the number of the grade you’re selecting.

      That shot in the Timeline is updated with the newly selected grade.

To reset a grade in the Timeline
  1. Move the playhead to the shot you want to switch the grade of.

  2. Control-click or right-click the grade you want to reset to in the grades track of the Timeline, then choose Reset Grade [x] from the shortcut menu, where x is the number of the grade.

    When you reset a grade, every room associated with that grade is reset, including the Primary In, Secondary, Color FX, and Primary Out rooms. The Geometry room is unaffected.

    For more information, see Managing Corrections and Grades.

To delete a grade in the Timeline
  1. Move the playhead to the shot you want to remove the grade from.

  2. Control-click or right-click the grade you want to reset to in the grades track of the Timeline, then choose Remove Grade [x] from the shortcut menu, where x is the number of the grade.

    Note: If the grades track is locked, you cannot delete grades.