About the Settings Tab

The Settings tab allows you to manage your settings. In conjunction with the Inspector window, the Settings tab also provides details of all the settings and provides easy access to common transcoding controls.

You use the Settings tab (together with the Inspector window) to create, modify, or delete settings, as well as create group folders for multiple settings. You can also create Droplets from the Settings tab.

The Settings tab contains a list of the existing settings and the necessary buttons to add, remove, or duplicate a setting and create groups and Droplets.

Figure. Settings tab.

Settings Tab Buttons

The following buttons are located along the top of the Settings tab.

  • Create a New Setting Group: Click to create a folder where you can group existing settings. Use this button as a way to organize your settings into some sort of logical order, keeping the Settings tab easy to navigate. Once settings have been created, you can assign a whole group of settings to a source media file (by dragging it onto the source file in the Batch window) or you can create a Droplet containing multiple settings. See Creating Groups of Settings for more information.
  • Save Selection as Droplet: Click to create a Droplet from an existing setting or group of settings. Droplets allow you to transcode a media file by simply dragging one or more source media files over the Droplet icon. Once you have selected your setting or group and clicked the “Save Selection as Droplet” button, the Save dialog asks you to name your Droplet, choose a location for it, and choose a destination folder for the relevant output media files. Once you complete this dialog, your Droplet is ready and you can drag as many files as you want to its icon. See Using Droplets for more information about Droplets.
  • Duplicate Selected Setting: Click to duplicate a selected setting in the Settings tab. The Duplicate button copies the exact settings of the setting currently selected in the Settings tab. Using the Duplicate button allows you to create a new setting from a preexisting one; you can then adjust that setting according to your needs, rather than creating a new setting from scratch.
  • Create a New Setting (+): Click to add a new setting to the Settings tab. A dialog appears for you to choose an output file format (H.264 for Apple Devices, MPEG-2, MPEG-4, and so on) when you click this button.
  • Delete Selected Settings (-): Click to remove a setting from the Settings tab. You are not asked for a confirmation, so be sure you want to remove the setting before clicking this button.

    Note: You cannot delete the Apple settings.

Settings List

When you first open the Settings tab it contains a set of preexisting (Apple) settings supplied with Compressor. The Settings tab displays name and description details of all existing settings and groups stored on your computer.

Figure. Settings tab. Apple and Custom settings groups.

New settings appear in the Custom group folder with the default name “Untitled [File Format]” with “[File Format]” being the file format you chose from the (+) pop-up menu. It’s a good idea to change the setting name to something meaningful, such as details of the settings or distribution method associated with the setting. Click the setting in the Settings tab to open it in the Inspector window.

Figure. Selected setting in the Settings tab and the corresponding Inspector window.

Use the Name field in the Inspector window to enter a name. Use the Description field to enter more information about each setting. This information only appears within the Settings tab and can help you keep track of your files when you have many settings.

You can also organize your settings by putting them in group folders. Once you have created and named a group folder, you can drag any existing custom setting into it. When you drag a setting to a group, you remove it from its current location. You can also drag individual settings from a group to a source media file. See Creating Groups of Settings for more information.

Selecting a Target

Whenever you select a batch’s target, its setting immediately appears in the Inspector window with Selected Target in the Name field. This is a temporary copy of the setting and not the setting itself, so you can make temporary modifications to the setting for just that one batch submission.

Figure. Selected target in the Batch window and the corresponding Inspector window.

When you modify the target’s setting, the Save As button at the bottom of the Inspector window becomes active. Click Save As to save the modified setting with a new name. The saved copy appears in the Settings tab as Setting Name-Copy, and immediately becomes the selected setting in the Settings tab.