Configuring the Interface

To make it easy to change between different configurations of the DVD Studio Pro interface, DVD Studio Pro lets you save each configuration. For example, once you configure the quadrants so they are optimized for creating subtitles, you can save that configuration for easy recall later.

Each configuration includes:

DVD Studio Pro includes several standard configurations you can choose from. These configurations provide three levels of access to the features of DVD Studio Pro—basic, extended, and advanced.

You can use these configurations as they are, perhaps adding a new tool to the toolbar or another tab to a quadrant, or as a starting point for creating your own configurations.

To choose a DVD Studio Pro configuration
  • Choose Window > Configurations, then choose a configuration from the submenu.

Figure. Window menu showing the Configurations submenu.

The submenu lists the supplied configurations plus any that you have created. Each of the first three supplied configurations are automatically assigned keyboard shortcuts F1 through F3. You can assign keyboard shortcuts for any custom configurations in the Manage Configurations dialog.

Once you select a configuration, the DVD Studio Pro interface changes to the new settings. You can make your own changes to the interface and save it as a new, custom configuration.

To save a configuration
  1. Configure the interface as needed, including the quadrants and their tabs, the toolbar, the Inspector, and the Palette. See the following for more information:

  2. Choose Window > Save Configuration.

    The following dialog appears.

    Figure. Save configuration dialog.
  3. Enter a name for the configuration.

  4. Click Save.

The new configuration is added to the list of configurations available to your system.

Note: To update a custom configuration, save the updated version using the original version’s name.

To manage your configurations
  1. Choose Window > Manage Configurations.

    Figure. Configuration management dialog.

    A list of existing configurations appears. The Key column lists the “F” key assigned as each configuration’s keyboard shortcut.

  2. Do any of the following:

    • Click the Add (+) button to add a new configuration.

    • Delete a configuration by selecting it and then clicking the Delete (–) button.

    • Rename a configuration by double-clicking it and entering a new name.

    • Assign a keyboard shortcut to a configuration by choosing an “F” key from its Key pop-up menu.

      Important: F9, F10, and F11 are used by default by the Mac OS X Exposé feature. You can reconfigure them in System Preferences. F14 and F15 are used by Mac OS X to control the monitor brightness.

    • Apply a configuration by selecting it and then clicking the Apply button.

  3. Click Done to close the dialog and save the changes.