Deleting Assets from Final Cut Server

When you delete an asset from Final Cut Server, you delete the asset’s primary representation file, the proxy files that were created for the asset, and all the metadata associated with the asset. Because a single asset can be linked to one or more Final Cut Pro or other project assets, deleting assets should be approached with caution. You should only delete assets from Final Cut Server if you are certain that the asset will not be needed.

You can view what project or media assets an asset is related to in the Resources pane of the asset info window.

Figure. Asset info window showing the Resources pane and the "Instances of this asset are used by" field.

Deleting a media or bundle asset and deleting a Final Cut Pro project asset are described in the steps below.

To delete a media asset or a bundle asset from the Final Cut Server catalog
  1. Control-click the media asset or bundle asset, then choose Delete from the shortcut menu.

  2. In the dialog that appears, click Delete.

The asset is deleted from the Final Cut Server catalog.

To delete a Final Cut Pro project asset from the Final Cut Server catalog
  1. Control-click the asset, then choose Delete from the shortcut menu.

    A dialog appears, informing you of which assets and files will be deleted.

  2. Read through this message and confirm that you want to delete all of the assets and files linked with the Final Cut Pro project asset.

  3. When you are ready to delete the asset and all of its linked media, click Delete.

The Final Cut Pro asset and all of its linked assets are deleted from the Final Cut Server catalog.