Locking and Unlocking an Asset

In Final Cut Server, locks function to protect the primary representation file, proxy files, and metadata in the asset.

There are several types of locks. The User lock is the most obvious lock because it is the only lock that you apply manually. The User lock is applied to an asset from the Toolbar or from the asset’s shortcut menu. You can tell an asset is locked when you see the “locked by me” or “locked by other” icon on an asset’s thumbnail.

Figure. Final Cut Server main window showing the Lock button, a yellow "locked by me" asset icon, and a white "locked by other" asset icon.

Checkout and Reference locks are not applied manually. They are applied when you check out a Final Cut Pro project asset.

The following sections describe the types of locks you will find in Final Cut Server.

User Lock

You or another user can put a User lock on an asset by clicking the Lock button in the Toolbar or by choosing Lock from the asset’s shortcut menu. After a User lock has been applied to an asset, a lock icon (either “locked by me” or “locked by other”) appears on the asset’s thumbnail. Also, the lock that was applied is noted as a User lock in the Locks pane of the asset info window.

Figure. Asset info window showing the Locks pane.

When you lock the asset, the primary representation of the file cannot be edited, checked out, deleted, or archived by another user.

Important: A User lock does not prevent the asset’s metadata and proxy files from being edited by you or another user.

Checkout Lock

A Checkout lock is applied when an asset is checked out by you or another user.

Figure. Asset info window showing the Lock Type column in the Locks pane.

When an asset is checked out, no part of the asset, including the primary representation of the file, proxy files, or metadata, can be edited, and the asset cannot be edited, checked out, deleted, or archived.

See Checking Media Assets In and Out for more information about checking out a media asset. See Checking Out a Final Cut Pro Project and Reference Lock for more information about checking out a Final Cut Pro project. See Working with Final Cut Studio Projects for more information about checking out a Final Cut Studio project asset.

Reference Lock

When a Final Cut Pro project asset is checked out, the project asset is locked with a Checkout lock. In addition to the Checkout lock, each of the media assets linked to the project are locked with a Reference lock. Reference locks are not indicated on the media asset’s thumbnail; you can only find evidence of a Reference lock in the Locks pane in the asset’s info window.

Figure. Asset info window displaying a Reference lock in the Locks pane.

Important: A Reference lock does not prevent the Final Cut Pro project or a media asset’s metadata from being edited by you or another user, or prevent a media asset from being used in another Final Cut Pro project.

Locking and Unlocking Assets with a User Lock

This section explains how to lock and unlock an asset using the User lock.

To apply a User lock to an asset
Do one of the following:
  • Select the asset in the Assets pane, then click the Lock button in the Toolbar.

  • Control-click the asset, then choose Lock from the shortcut menu.

After locking an asset, a lock icon appears on the asset, indicating that the asset is locked. In other Final Cut Server clients, the lock icon looks different, indicating that another user has locked the asset.

Figure. Two asset thumbnails displaying the "locked by me" and "locked by other user" icons.
To unlock an asset that you locked
Do one of the following:
  • Select the asset in the Assets pane, then click the Unlock button in the Toolbar.

  • Control-click the asset, then choose Unlock from the shortcut menu.

The icon disappears, and the asset is unlocked.

Only the person who locked the asset and your Final Cut Server administrator can unlock a locked asset.

If an asset is locked by another user, you can open that asset’s info window and view the Locks pane to find out which user has locked the asset.

Figure. Asset info window showing the Locked By column in the Locks pane.

If you need access to a locked asset, talk to the person who locked it or to your Final Cut Server administrator.