Setting Final Cut Server Client Preferences

Your Final Cut Server administrator is responsible for configuring most of the preferences that affect you while working with your Final Cut Server client. However, there are a few settings that you can change in your client copy only.

Figure. User Preferences window showing the Searching and Local Media Storage settings.
To open the Preferences window
Do one of the following:
  • Choose Final Cut Server > Preferences.

  • Choose Preferences from the Server pop-up menu (the pop-up menu in the Final Cut Server main window that appears when you click the Server button).

To make changes in the Preferences window
  • Enter a number or enter a file path (by clicking the Choose button and then specifying a file path) in the field you want to change, then click the Apply Changes button.

About Search Preferences

The search preferences control the number of results Final Cut Server finds and how many items are displayed per page. This can be useful if you have a large or small display.

Searching preferences include:

  • Maximum # of Search Results: Enter a value that is the maximum number of items that appear after a search.
  • Items Per Page: Search results are divided into pages to make viewing more efficient. You can enter a value that defines how many items appear on each page.
  • Remember the last search: Select this checkbox to have Final Cut Server remember and run the last search that you performed the next time you log in.

About Local Media Preferences

The cache is where your local copies of media files are downloaded. It is not suggested that users view or move files that are in the cache. Instead, export copies of files that you want to use to your desktop or another convenient location.

However, you can decide where you want your cache to be located. In the Preferences window, you can change the location and size of the cache. You can also quickly clear the cache in the Preferences window.

Cache preferences include:

  • Save cached files to: Click the Choose button to choose a location to use for storing your caches. The default locations are /username/Library/Caches/ when running the client on a Mac computer and the /username/AppData/ directory on a Windows computer.

    Important: Changing the cache location results in all current caches becoming unavailable. If you change the cache’s location, you will need to manually add assets that you need to the new cache location.

  • Maximum Cache Size: Enter a value to define a maximum cache size.
  • Clear Cache: Click the Clear Cache button to delete the files in the cache location.
  • Saved aliases for prepared media files: Click the Choose button to choose a location to use for storing aliases to cache files. This location is used when you choose the Prepare for Disconnected Use option for assets.

Note: If your local cache exceeds the limit defined in the Preferences window, a message appears, advising you to clear the cache, cancel the action, or continue the action. It is recommended that you choose to clear your cache.

About General Preferences

These preferences affect how Final Cut Server displays productions and messages.

  • Disable Resource Fork Warning checkbox: Select this checkbox to turn off “Disable Resource Fork” messages.
  • Use Generic thumbnail for Productions: Select this checkbox to display a generic production icon to represent a production. By default, a still image contained in a production is displayed on the production thumbnail and in list view.

About the Saved Aliases for Prepared Media Files Field

Preparing media assets for disconnected use allows you to create alias copies of a media file that is stored in your Final Cut Server cache on a portable computer. You can use the alias files to create a new Final Cut Pro project while you are disconnected from the Final Cut Server network. You can set the location where Final Cut Server saves alias copies of the prepared media files in the Preferences window. See Preparing Media Assets to Be Used on an Offline Computer for more information about preparing media assets for disconnected use.