Presets Pane

The Presets Preferences pane contains presets for both project settings and export settings. In this pane, you can choose defaults, as well as create, modify, and delete settings. The default project preset determines the settings assigned when you create a new project. You can change any of these settings while you are working by opening the Project Properties window (choose Edit > Project Properties or press Command-J).

Figure. Motion Preferences window showing Presets pane.
  • Preset list: Below the Show menu, the current list of presets appears. The checkbox to the left of each name identifies the default preset. Check a different box to select a new preset. The column on the right shows which presets are locked. Locked presets cannot be modified. You can duplicate a locked preset and edit the copy.
  • Summary box: To the right of the Preset list, the Summary box displays details of the currently selected preset.
  • Create new documents using default: When this checkbox is selected, creating a new project automatically uses the default project preset. When this checkbox is deselected, creating a new project displays the Select Project Preset dialog so you can choose a preset for the new project.
  • Add New Preset: Click the Add button (+) to display the Project Preset Editor dialog and create a new preset.
  • Remove Preset: To remove a preset, select the preset you want to remove and click the Delete button (–).
  • Duplicate: To duplicate a preset, select the preset you want to duplicate, then click Duplicate.
  • Edit: To edit a preset, click the Edit button. If the Show pop-up menu is set to Project Presets, the Project Preset Editor opens. If the Show pop-up menu is set to Export Presets, the Export Options window opens. See Project Preset Editor and Export Options Window for more information.

Project Preset Editor

The Project Preset Editor dialog is where you make changes to a project preset.

Note: Locked presets cannot be edited. If you attempt to edit a locked preset, an alert dialog appears, a duplicate copy of the preset is made, and your edits are applied to the duplicate.

To open the Project Preset Editor
  1. In the Presets Preferences pane, choose Project Presets from the Show pop-up menu (located in the upper-left corner of the pane).

  2. Click the Edit button, then do one of the following:

    • Double-click an unlocked preset in the Preset list.

      Note: When you double-click a default preset in the Preset list of the Presets pane, an alert dialog appears stating that the selected preset cannot be modified. Click OK to create an editable copy of the preset.

    • Select a nonlocked item in the Preset list and click the Edit button.

    • Select an item in the Preset list, click Duplicate, select the copied preset, then click the Edit button.

      Figure. Project Preset Editor.

The Project Preset editor contains the following settings:

  • Name: This editable field contains the name for the preset.
  • Description: This field contains descriptive text to identify the preset. You can enter your own descriptive text in this field. The new text will appear in the Summary box in the Preset Preferences pane.
  • Width and Height: These fields set the frame size for the preset.
  • Frame Rate: Sets the frame rate for your preset. Click the list arrow to display common rates or type your own custom value.

Export Options Window

The Export Options window is where you make changes to an export preset.

To open the Export Options window
  1. In the Presets pane, choose Export Presets from the Show pop-up menu (located in the upper left corner of the pane).

  2. Click the Edit button, then do one of the following:

    • Double-click an unlocked preset in the Preset list.

      Note: When you double-click a default preset in the Preset list of the Presets pane, an alert dialog appears stating that the selected preset cannot be modified. Click OK to create an editable copy of the preset.

    • Select a nonlocked item in the Preset list and click the Edit button.

    • Select an item in the Preset list, click Duplicate, select the copied preset, then click the Edit button.

      Figure. Export Options dialog showing the Output tab.

The Export Options dialog contains the following settings:

Information Fields

The Name and Description fields display information about the selected preset.

  • Name: This editable field contains the name for the preset.
  • Description: Contains descriptive text to identify the preset. This text appears in the Summary box in the Preset Preferences pane. You can enter your own descriptive text in this field.

    The Video/Audio and Output tabs appear beneath the Name and Description fields. To the right of the tabs, a summary box displays the details of settings from the two tabs.

Video/Audio Tab

The Video/Audio tab contains two groups of controls: Video and Audio.

Video Controls

This group of controls allows you to set your video output options.

  • Quality: For some compressors, you can set a quality setting. If the control is dimmed, that compressor type does not offer variable quality.
  • Start number: For image sequences, you can set a starting frame number. Each file generated in the image sequence has an incrementing number.
  • Add spaces: When generating image sequences, clicking the Add Spaces checkbox causes extra spaces to be added to the filenames to ensure that the sequence of files is read in proper order by some other applications.
  • Advanced: The Advanced button is only active for QuickTime movies. Clicking this button opens the standard compression settings dialog. In most cases, you should not need to make any changes in this dialog.
Audio controls

This group of controls allows you to set your audio output options.

  • Advanced: The Advanced button opens the standard Sound Settings dialog. In most cases, you should not need to make any changes in this dialog.

Output Tab

The Output tab contains the following controls:

  • Use current project and canvas settings: When this checkbox is selected, the current project settings will override the current export settings. This allows one export preset to be used with multiple project presets. When this checkbox is deselected, you can create specific settings for the export preset.
  • Premultiply alpha: When this checkbox is selected, semi-transparent pixels in your output are mixed with black.
  • Frame Rate: Controls whether projects are output at the project frame rate, or at another frame rate that you specify. There are two options:
    • Use project frame rate: When this option is selected, the project is exported at the frame rate defined in the Project Properties dialog.
    • Use (fps): When this option is selected, you can define a frame rate other than the current project frame rate. Choose a frame rate from the pop-up menu or manually enter a frame rate.
  • Lighting: When this checkbox is selected, the lighting effects are rendered with the project. When this checkbox is deselected, no lighting effects appear in your final output.
  • Shadows: When this checkbox is selected, shadows are rendered with the project. When this checkbox is deselected, no shadows appear in your final output.
  • Reflections: When this checkbox is selected, reflections are rendered with the project. When this checkbox is deselected, no reflections appear in your final output.
  • Depth of Field: When this checkbox is selected, camera depth of field effects are rendered with the project. When this checkbox is deselected, no depth of field effects appear in your final output.
  • Field Rendering: When this checkbox is selected, the output always renders individual fields regardless of the setting in the View menu pop-up menu (above the right side of the Canvas). When it is deselected, frames are rendered whole, regardless of the setting in the View pop-up menu.
  • Motion Blur: When this checkbox is selected, motion blur is applied to moving layers regardless of the setting in the View pop-up menu (above the right side of the Canvas). When deselected, no motion blur is applied.
  • Frame Blending: When this checkbox is selected, frame blending is applied to moving footage in the rendered output. The result can be smoother looking playback, but this option can increase rendering time.
  • Use Float Bit Depth: When working in float color space, turning this setting off drops the rendered output to 8-bit. Because working in float space drastically increases processing time, turn this setting off to speed your rendering time. This setting does not affect the use of float bit depth in the Canvas.