Placing Clips in the Transfer Queue

The Transfer Queue shows a list of clips currently queued for transfer. The status of each clip is shown and a progress bar indicates how much of a clip’s media has already been transferred.

You can pause or restart transfer at any time.

To pause or restart transfer of files in the Transfer Queue
Do one of the following:
  • Click the Pause button.

  • Press Command-Control-Q.

Figure. Transfer Queue in the Log and Transfer window.

Important: Ingesting clips always extracts your media from the original storage media and copies it to a new QuickTime file on your scratch disk. For example, if you ingest 4 GB of DVCPRO HD footage from a P2 folder on your hard disk, an additional 4 GB of disk space is required for the QuickTime movie file. In cases where your source footage is transcoded, the resulting QuickTime movie can be significantly larger than the original.

Adding Clips to the Transfer Queue for Transfer

There are many ways to add clips to the Transfer Queue.

To add clips to the Transfer Queue
Do one of the following:
  • In the Browse area, select one or more clips, then click Add Selection to Queue.

  • Drag one or more clips from the Browse area to the Transfer Queue.

  • Drag a volume from the Browse area to the Transfer Queue. All clips on the volume are added to the Transfer Queue at once.

  • In the Preview area, click the Add Clip to Queue button.

    Note: When you click the Add Clip to Queue button, only the clip that appears in the Preview area is added to the Transfer Queue.

  • Click in the video image in the Preview area and drag the image to the Transfer Queue.

You can also drag clips from the Log and Transfer window to your project in the Browser. Those clips are automatically logged in the project and added to the Transfer Queue, and their media is transferred.

Organizing Clips in the Transfer Queue

The Status column displays the transfer status of each clip in the Transfer Queue:

  • Ingesting: A spinning disc indicates media is being transferred to your scratch disk.

  • Paused: A still disc indicates the current clip is partially transferred.

  • Error: An exclamation point indicates that ingest of the file failed. The source media for this clip may have been unmounted or moved since the clip was added to the Transfer Queue. Other errors, such as running out of disk space, may have occurred. You can hold the pointer over the exclamation point to display a tooltip that identifies the error. You can Control-click the clip that failed to ingest and use the shortcut menu to try reingesting, or delete the clip and add it to the Transfer Queue again.

Clips are transferred one at a time in the order they appear. You can reorder clips by dragging them above or below other clips. You can also stop the transfer of clips by selecting them and deleting them from the Transfer Queue.

About Pausing and Stopping Transfer

Final Cut Pro does not save partially transferred media. If the Transfer Queue is in the process of transferring a clip (or if a transfer is paused), Final Cut Pro warns you that you will lose the partially transferred media if you do any of the following:

  • Delete the clip from the Transfer Queue.

  • Close the Log and Transfer window.

  • Close the current Final Cut Pro project containing your logging bin.

  • Quit Final Cut Pro.

Using Automatic Transfer

Final Cut Pro allows you to automatically transfer all the clips on a volume as soon as the volume is mounted. When a volume is mounted, Final Cut Pro immediately transfers any clips on the volume to the Transfer Queue and uses the name preset chosen from the Name Preset pop-up menu to add logging information. Automatically transferring clips is a convenient way of transferring many clips at once without individually adding logging information or setting In and Out points. Final Cut Pro transfers entire clips from the volume.

To turn automatic transfer on or off
  • Click the Automatic Transfer button in the Transfer Queue.

When you’re ingesting spanned clips using the Automatic Transfer feature, it’s recommended that you mount all the volumes that hold the different segments of a spanned clip so that Final Cut Pro has access to the volumes it needs before you turn on automatic transfer. If not all volumes are mounted, Final Cut Pro transfers as many segments of the spanned clip as are available on the mounted volumes as individual clips. You can later mount the missing volumes, complete the transfer of the missing segments of the spanned clip, and then reassemble the spanned clip. For more information about spanned clips, see Viewing Spanned Clips in the Browse Area.