Changing the Sync of Merged Clips

Once a merged clip is created, the only way to modify the sync relationship of the items within it is to make subframe adjustments. (For more information on making subframe sync adjustments, see Subframe Synchronization of Audio and Video.)

To make larger changes to the sync of items within a merged clip, you must re-create it using the original items.

One way to re-create a merged clip quickly is to edit it into a sequence in the Timeline and make it independent by Control-clicking it and choosing Make Independent from the shortcut menu. Then unlink the clip items in the Timeline and make any sync changes. Relink the clip items and drag them back into the Browser to create a new merged clip.

This method creates a new merged clip, but does not affect any instances of the previously created merged clip that are already edited into sequences elsewhere in your project.