Adding and Deleting Tracks

In Final Cut Pro, sequences can have up to 99 video and 99 audio tracks. Tracks contain clip items, which are the individual media items that make up a clip. When you edit, you arrange individual or linked clip items in a sequence.

Adding Tracks

You can add tracks to a sequence at any time. You can add tracks one at a time, or you can add multiple video and audio tracks at once.

To quickly add a track to a sequence
Do one of the following:
  • Control-click anywhere in the area above the top video track or below the bottom audio track, then choose Add Track from the shortcut menu.

    Figure. Timeline window showing a shortcut menu with the Add Track command.
  • Drag a clip to the unused area above the top video track or below the bottom audio track. Final Cut Pro adds new tracks to accommodate any audio or video this new clip contains.

    Figure. Timeline window showing a clip being dragged to the unused area above the top video track.
To add multiple tracks to a sequence
  1. Choose Sequence > Insert Tracks.

  2. In the Insert Tracks dialog, select your options, then click OK.

    Figure. Insert Tracks dialog showing options for entering the number, types, and locations of tracks to be inserted.
    • Track type: Select the appropriate checkbox to add audio and/or video tracks.
    • Number of tracks: Enter the number of tracks for either video or audio. A sequence can have a total of 99 video tracks and 99 audio tracks.
    • Specify a location: Choose where you want the tracks located:
      • Before Base Track: This inserts the new tracks before the first track in the Timeline. Existing tracks and their clips will be moved up. For example, if one video track is added before the base track of a sequence with two existing video tracks, V1 and V2, these tracks along with their clips will be moved to V2 and V3. Track V1 is the new, empty track.
      • After Last Track: This inserts the new tracks after the last track in the Timeline. If your last track is V2, and you add three video tracks, tracks V3, V4, and V5 are created.

When you add a single video track before a track that contains clip items, those video clip items move up one track, but any audio items linked to them do not. This results in an offset between the track number of that clip’s video and the track numbers of that clip’s audio, but the clip’s audio and video are still linked and in sync.

Figure. Timeline window showing that when you add a single video track the video tracks move up but the audio tracks don't move.

Deleting Tracks

You can delete tracks from a sequence at any time. You can delete tracks one at a time, or you can delete multiple video and audio tracks at once. If you delete tracks that contain linked clip items, only the items on the deleted track are deleted; the linked items remain. For example, if you delete a video track, video clip items on that track are deleted, but the linked audio clip items remain in their tracks.

Note: If you delete the wrong track, you can use the Undo command to restore it.

To quickly delete a single track in a sequence
  • Control-click anywhere in the track header (the area to the left of each track), then choose Delete Track from the shortcut menu.

You can also delete several empty tracks from a sequence in the Timeline.

To delete multiple empty tracks from a sequence
  1. Choose Sequence > Delete Tracks.

  2. Select your options for deleting tracks, then click OK.

    Figure. Delete Tracks dialog showing options that appear after you select the type of track that you want to delete.
    • Track type: Select the appropriate checkbox to delete audio and/or video tracks.
    • Tracks to delete: Specify the type of track you want to delete.
      • All Empty Tracks: Select this option to delete all tracks in your sequence in the Timeline that don’t contain clip items.
      • All Empty Tracks at End of Sequence: Select this option to delete all empty video tracks above and all empty audio tracks below the outermost tracks that contain clip items.

After tracks are deleted, all remaining tracks in the sequence are renumbered.