Moving, Copying, and Deleting Transitions

After you add a transition, you can move it or change its edit point. You can also copy transitions to quickly add the same transition at another point in your sequence (then modify its properties later, if desired). You can also delete the transition.

Moving a Transition to Another Edit Point

You can move a transition from one edit point to another. The transition is removed from the previous edit point and located at the new edit point. If there’s already a transition at the new edit point, it’s replaced by the new transition.

To move a transition in a sequence
  • In the Timeline, drag a transition from its current edit point to the desired edit point.

    If there are enough overlapping frames on either side of the edit, you can drag it before the edit point, on the edit point, or after the edit point.

    Figure. Timeline window showing a transition icon being dragged to a new edit point.

Copying and Pasting Transitions

To add the same transition quickly elsewhere within your sequence, you can copy and paste a transition to other edit points. This is helpful if you’ve changed a transition’s default settings and want to use the modified transition again. (You can also make frequently used transitions “favorites.” For more information, see Saving a Transition as a Favorite.)

To copy a transition from one edit point to another
  1. Do one of the following:

    • In the Timeline, select the transition you want to copy, then press Command-C.

    • Control-click the transition, then choose Copy from the shortcut menu.

  2. Do one of the following:

    • Select the edit point where you want to add the transition, then press Command-V.

    • Control-click the edit point where you want to add the transition, then choose Paste from the shortcut menu.

To copy a transition from one edit point to another by dragging it
  • Hold down the Option key while dragging an existing transition to another edit point.

Deleting Transitions

Transitions that you’ve added to your sequence can easily be removed.

To delete a transition from a sequence
  1. Select the transition you want to remove in the Timeline.

  2. Do one of the following:

    • Choose Edit > Clear (or press Delete).

    • Control-click the transition, then choose Cut from the shortcut menu.