Making Clips Offline

You can deliberately make clips in your project offline. This breaks the connection between a clip in your project and its media file on disk by removing the file path in the clip’s Source property. Since the file path in a clip’s Source property is shared among affiliated clips, removing this file path makes all affiliated clips offline at the same time. This is useful if you want to delete all of your media files in preparation for recapturing at a higher data rate (for online editing).

In addition to breaking the connection between clips and media files, you can choose to delete the media files or keep them on your scratch disk. This is useful if you want to delete all of your media files in preparation for recapturing at a higher data rate, or simply to get rid of media files you no longer need because you are refining your project.

To make one or more files offline
  1. In the Browser or Timeline, select the clips or sequences you want to make offline.

  2. Do one of the following:

    • Choose Modify > Make Offline.

    • Control-click a selected item and choose Make Offline from the shortcut menu.

  3. Select an option in the Make Offline dialog, then click OK.

    Figure. Make Offline dialog.
    • Leave Them on the Disk: Select this option to disconnect clips from their media files but leave the original media files on your disk. Clips are disconnected because the file path in each clip’s Source property is cleared, so the clips no longer have a file location to look for media files.
    • Move Them to the Trash: Select this option to disconnect clips from their media files and move the media files to the Trash. This is different from choosing to delete the files because you must still empty the Trash to delete the files. This option lets you consider whether you really want to permanently delete your media files (emptying the Trash is not undoable). If you decide to keep the files, you must drag them out of the Trash and use the Reconnect Media command, because the file path in each clip’s Source property is cleared.
    • Delete Them from the Disk: Select this option to disconnect clips from their media and immediately delete the media files from the disk. This action is not undoable. If you need the media files again, you have to recapture them.
  4. If you choose to move or delete the files, a message tells you this action cannot be undone. To continue, click OK.

Differences Between Missing and Offline Media Files

Final Cut Pro considers any clip without a media file to be offline. However, the status of the clip’s Source property determines whether Final Cut Pro continues to search for a clip’s media file each time a project is opened.

If a clip’s Source property contains a file path and the media file cannot be found, Final Cut Pro considers this clip’s media file to be missing, and Final Cut Pro warns you about the missing media file each time you open the project.

If a clip’s Source property is empty, the clip is considered offline, but Final Cut Pro does not search for the clip’s media file (since there is no path to search for). In this case, you are not warned about missing media each time you open the project. For example, if you simply log a clip, it does not yet have a media file associated with it, and therefore its Source property is empty. In this case, Final Cut Pro doesn’t warn you each time you open the project that the clip is missing its media file.

Final Cut Pro keeps track of which clips have missing media files until you explicitly request otherwise. You can change the status of a clip from “missing” to simply offline by clearing the clip’s Source property. You can do this several ways:

  • Select the Forget option in the Offline Files dialog that appears when Final Cut Pro detects that some clips’ media files are not in the expected location.

  • Select one or more clips and choose Modify > Make Offline.