Reconnecting Media Files Automatically

If you process your media files outside of Final Cut Pro, Final Cut Pro detects the change in the media file and any clips pointing to that file become offline. This can be inconvenient, especially when you are constantly modifying media files in another application like Motion or Soundtrack Pro.

By using the Open in Editor command, you can tell Final Cut Pro to open a clip’s media file in a particular application and then automatically reconnect the file when you return to Final Cut Pro. However, this method can also be inconvenient, especially if you are making changes to Motion or Soundtrack Pro projects outside of Final Cut Pro.

If the Open in Editor command doesn’t suit your workflow, you can configure Final Cut Pro to always reconnect modified media files in all circumstances, even if you don’t use the Open in Editor command. This means that when you modify media files in other applications, the clip does not go offline when you return to Final Cut Pro.

To configure Final Cut Pro to reconnect modified media files even when you don’t use the Open in Editor command
  1. Choose Final Cut Pro > User Preferences.

  2. Click the Editing tab.

  3. Select the Always Reconnect Externally Modified Files checkbox.

Warning: Be cautious when you select this option, particularly in a shared environment (such as an Xsan environment) in which media drives are shared for collaborative editing. If you (or someone else) modifies media files in other applications, Final Cut Pro will not notify you when clips are reconnected. For example, if someone changes the duration of a media file in Soundtrack Pro, Final Cut Pro does not warn you that the clip duration has changed. If you want to ensure that clips are only reconnected when you use the Open in Editor command, deselect the Always Reconnect Externally Modified Files checkbox.