How the Media Manager Processes Selected Items

The way clips and media are handled in the Media Manager varies greatly depending on the master-affiliate relationships between clips you originally selected, the types of clips you selected, and the options you choose in the Media Manager.

Processing Steps in the Media Manager

You can use the Media Manager to manage clips and media in different ways. Operations in the Media Manager are done in the following order:

  • If you’re duplicating the selected items, you’re prompted for a name and location for the new project file.

  • If you’re removing unused media from existing media files, items outside the current selection are scanned to see if they use the same media files. (Final Cut Pro looks at all sequences and clips in all projects that are currently open.)

    If any items are found, a message asks if you want to add these additional items to the current selection, make them offline, or cancel the operation altogether.

  • The destination disk is checked to see if there is enough free disk space, based on the options you’ve selected.

    If there isn’t enough free disk space, a message asks you to specify a new destination or cancel the operation.

  • If items outside your selection are found and you chose to make them offline, they are taken offline.

  • Media files are copied or moved to the selected destination.

    If the “Delete unused media” option is selected, unused media is not included. If multiple clips correspond to the same media file and they don’t overlap, each used segment of the original media file will be written as a separate file and be named accordingly.

    For example: You originally captured a ten-minute clip and used four sections of this clip’s media file in your project; two of them overlap and the other two don’t. In this case, three media files are created, one from the two overlapping clips, and two more for the remaining two clips.

    Figure. Diagram showing the conversion of four clips into three clips when the "Delete unused media" option is selected.

    Note: The names of newly segmented media files are based on the option chosen in the “Base media file names on” pop-up menu, using either the existing media filenames or the names of the clips in your project.

  • If the “Include master clips outside selection” option is selected, the master clips created in your new project are defined by the media used by your selected items, as well as by the In and Out points of the master clips in your current project. Otherwise, new master clips are created based only on the media used by your selected items.

  • If the “Include affiliate clips outside selection” option is selected along with the “Include master clips outside selection” option, media used by any clips affiliated with your selection is preserved. For more information on what media will be preserved, see Limiting How Much Media Is Copied or Deleted.

  • If you chose to include render files, they’re copied or moved to the selected media destination.

  • If you chose to create a new project, one is created and any selected clips or sequences are copied to it. A bin of master clips is also created for any clips in your project.

  • If you chose the Copy, Move, or Recompress options in the Media Manager, all items in your original or newly created project are reconnected to the new or moved media files on disk. If you selected the “Use existing” option, all items in your original or newly created project are reconnected to the original media files, not copies.

    Important: Media Manager operations use only the source timecode track, ignoring the Aux 1 and Aux 2 timecode tracks. Aux 1 and 2 timecode tracks are preserved, however, and remain in the media files that remain after the Media Manager operation is complete.

How Independent Clips Are Processed

Even if you don’t maintain proper master-affiliate relationships in your project by using independent clips, the Media Manager carefully analyzes your media management operation before it begins processing. For example, suppose you have a sequence called Sequence A that contains several independent clips. Also suppose that there are several master clips in the Browser that reference the same media files as the independent sequence clips. If you tell the Media Manager to remove unused media from the independent sequence clips, Final Cut Pro first scans the other clips in your project to make sure no others would be affected by deleting media.

In this case, Final Cut Pro discovers that the master clips also refer to the same media files as the independent clips in Sequence A, and a dialog appears warning you that additional clips outside your selection refer to the same media files. You are given the option to add the master clips to your selection before the Media Manager processes the media files. If you include the master clips in the selection, then no media is removed from the files, because the master clips refer to all of the media in a media file. However, if you choose to continue with the Media Manager operation without including the master clips in the selection, the media files are trimmed based on the length of the independent clips in Sequence A. This is fine for the clips in Sequence A, but the master clips will no longer have the appropriate media.

How Subclips Are Processed

When you create a subclip, you create a new master clip. A subclip is not related to the original clip it came from. However, both the original clip and the subclip refer to the same media file. Internally, a subclip is aware of the true Media Start and Media End points of a media file, but it provides artificial subclip limits to make the clip seem shorter, making it easier to work with in the Viewer and during editing.

When the Media Manager encounters a subclip, it treats the subclip like any other clip, using the artificial Media Start and End times instead of the actual Media Start and End times. This means you can use the “Delete unused media from selected items” option when processing a subclip to create a smaller media file that is only the length of the subclip.

Note: In some cases, you may want to delete the original master clip that your subclips were created from to ensure Final Cut Pro doesn’t attempt to preserve the entire media file referenced by the original master clip.

How Clips with Speed Adjustments Are Processed

When the Media Manager encounters a clip with a speed adjustment, all media necessary to achieve the speed effect is preserved. For example, a clip with a speed adjustment that makes the clip faster could have a duration of 10 seconds, but it could use 100 seconds of media.