Example: Consolidating Your Project and Media Files for Archiving

Many people like to archive their finished project files along with the corresponding media files. In this example, you copy all the content to an archive folder, which you can then back up on a DVD-R or other high-capacity media. After this process, you have an additional copy of your project and its corresponding media files. The original project file and media files are still intact.

If you want to reduce the required disk space, you can limit your selection to individual sequences and tell the Media Manager to copy only the parts of media files used by the sequences. In the example that follows, all the media is copied.

To consolidate your project and media files for archiving
  1. If you want to save your media files to a new folder on your hard disk, create that folder in the Finder.

  2. In the Browser, select all items in the project.

    Figure. Browser window showing all the clips in a project selected.
  3. Make sure the Browser window is still active. In the Media Manager, choose the following options, then click OK.

    Figure. Media Manager showing Copy chosen from the "media referenced by duplicated items" pop-up menu, the "Include master clips outside selection" checkbox selected, the "Delete unused media from duplicated items" checkbox selected, and the "Duplicate selected items and place into a new project" checkbox selected.
  4. In the dialog that appears, enter a project name, check that the destination folder is correct, then click OK.

    A copy of the project is placed in your specified archive folder. Copies of the project’s media files are placed in a folder named Media.

  5. To preserve media referenced by any affiliate subclips, select “Include master clips outside selection” and “Include affiliate clips outside selection.”

    These options may increase the amount of media copied. If you are trying to reduce the amount of media you back up, deselect these options.