Example: Copying Sequences with New Settings, but Without Media Files

There are several situations in which you might want to create an offline copy of one or more sequences:

  • When you’re preparing to recapture media files using a different capture preset.

  • When you’re working with a remote editor who already has the media files and you need to email the offline sequences without the media files.

To copy several sequences with new settings, but without media files
  1. In the Browser, select the sequences you want to copy.

    Figure. Browser window showing two selected sequences.
  2. In the Media Manager, choose the following options, then click OK.

    Figure. Media Manager showing "Create offline" chosen from the "media referenced by duplicated items" pop-up menu, the "Include master clips outside selection" checkbox selected, the "Delete unused media from duplicated items" checkbox selected, and the "Duplicate selected items and place into a new project" checkbox selected.

    Note: Selecting “Include master clips outside selection” and “Include affiliate clips outside selection” creates master clips that preserve the most media for recapturing. During rough editing, you generally want to retain the largest possible media files, so it’s a good idea to keep these options selected. If you are creating sequences for final editing or capturing at high resolution, you may want to deselect these options.