Distributing a Multitrack Project and Its Media Files Together

You can save a multitrack project with all of the media files it uses together in the same folder. Saving the project and its media files together is useful when you want to move the project from one computer to another to continue working on it or to archive the project and media for later use.

To save a project and its audio files together
  1. Choose File > Save As.

  2. In the dialog that appears, select the Collect Audio Files checkbox.

    This option saves the project file and a copy of every audio file the project uses to the selected location.

    Note: When you check this box, the setting is retained for any subsequent saves. In other words, the File > Save menu option changes to File > Save (Collected), and any new media you add to the project will be collected the next time you save the project.

    Figure. Save As dialog, showing Collect Audio Files and Collect Video File checkboxes.
  3. Enter a name for the saved project.

    The project file and a copy of every audio file the project uses are saved in the selected location.

  4. Navigate to the location where you want to save the project and its audio files.

  5. Do one of the following:

    • Select the folder where you want to save the project and its audio files.

    • Create a new folder for the collected project. To do this, click the triangle next to the Save As field to expand the Save dialog, then click New Folder.

    It’s a good idea to save each collected project in its own folder.

  6. To include media files you have deleted from the project, select the Collect Unused Audio Files checkbox.

    If you do not want to include these media files, make sure this checkbox is not selected.

  7. If the project includes a video and you want to save the video in the selected folder, select the Collect Video File checkbox.

    If the folder already contains any of the media files, an alert appears, asking if you want to replace the existing files.

    Note: Because video files are typically very large files, saving a copy of the video file may take several minutes and may require a large amount of disk space.

  8. If the project includes edited audio files, you can optionally select the Save Edited Media Locally checkbox to save the project’s edited audio files in the same folder as the project.

    If this box is not selected, edited media is saved to the Edited Media Location defined in Soundtrack Pro preferences.

  9. When you’re ready, click Save.

To remove deleted audio files from a project
Do one of the following:
  • In the Bin, select one of the audio files you want to remove, then choose Remove Unused from the Media pop-up menu.

  • In the Bin, Control-click one of the audio files you want to remove, then choose Remove Unused from the shortcut menu.