Undoing and Redoing Changes

As you edit clips and perform other operations in both multitrack and audio file projects, you might need to use the Undo and Redo commands. For example, if you don’t like the last change you’ve made to a project, it can usually be undone. Then, if you decide you prefer to keep the change you just undid, you can redo the command immediately after using Undo.

You can also use the Undo and Redo commands as a quick way of trying out changes to your project. You can make changes to any aspect of the project, then use Undo to step back through changes you don’t like to the project’s previous state. If you change your mind after undoing a change or set of changes, you can always use Redo to recover the changes. At any point, you can save a new version of the project using the File > Save As command.

You can use the Undo command repeatedly to undo every change made since the project was last saved.

To undo the last change
  • Choose Edit > Undo [item] (or press Command-Z).

The [item] in the menu changes to show the last command or operation.

You can use the Redo command repeatedly to redo every undone change since the project was last saved.

To redo the last change
  • Choose Edit > Redo [item] (or press Command-Shift-Z).

    The [item] in the menu changes to show the last command or operation.